EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBER DECISIONS MEETING FOR EDUCATION & CHILDREN

THURSDAY, 23 January 2020

PRESENT: Councillor: G. Davies (Executive Board Member).

The following officers were in attendance:

E. Bryer, Democratic Services Officer

Regeneration Meeting Room, County Hall, Carmarthen, SA31 1JP. - 9.00 - 9.15 am

1. DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST

There were no declarations of personal interest.

2. APPOINTMENT OF L.A. GOVERNORS

The Executive Board Member considered applications received for Local Authority Governor vacancies within the county. It was noted that nominations had been invited from the Chairperson, Head teacher and Local Member(s) in the case of Primary Schools/the member(s) who were governors in the case of Secondary Schools.

It was also noted that Local Authority Governors are appointed for 4 years and where the vacancy has occurred as a result of an individual's term of office coming to an end, this was noted in the details for that particular person if he/she was seeking appointment.

RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations for filling vacancies on Governing Bodies and having considered the applications received, the following appointments be made to vacancies for Local Authority Governors:-

Primary School	Appointments
Bancyfelin (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs R Bowen
Brynsierfel (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mr K Rees
Bynea (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs C Richards
Five Roads (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Councillor Jim Jones
Gorslas (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mr T Davies
Griffith Jones (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Councillor Philip Hughes



Gwenllian (1 current vacancy from 18 th March 2020 - 1 nomination)	Withdrawn
Hendy (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Councillor Gareth Thomas,
Llandybie (1 current vacancy from 1st Feb 2020 - 1 nomination)	Councillor Anthony Davies
Nantgaredig (2 current vacancy - 2 nomination)	Councillor Mansel Charles & Mr Hywel Rees
Meidrim (1 current vacancy from 21st Jan 2020 - 1 nomination)	Councillor Jean Lewis
Myrddin (2 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs J Evans
Secondary School	Appointments
Coedcae (1 current vacancy - 1 nomination)	Councillor Jeff Edmunds
Emlyn (1 current vacancy from 1 st Feb 2020 - 1 nomination)	Councillor Hazel Evans
Special School	Appointments
Rhydygors (2 current vacancy – 1 nomination)	Mrs Ionwen Spowage

3. DECISION RECORD OF THE MEETING HELD ON THE 22ND NOVEMBER, 2019

RESOLVED that the decision Record of the meeting held on the 22nd November, 2019 be signed as a correct record.

EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBER	DATE

